Broadcast In Brief:


- On Wednesday 2 December, it will be one year ago that Radio Darfur went on air in Darfur. It is the only source of independent news for the Darfuri. The Central Desk is staffed by Sudanese journalists who rely on a large network of correspondents in Darfur. The broadcasts are produced in five different local languages, to reach as many listeners as possible.

- Nigeria’s O.Y.O 2 has changed its name to Oluyole FM.

- A number of community television stations around South Africa are set to lose their frequency and may have to close. CTV, Cape Town's only community television channel, received a letter from the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Icasa) last week, stating that various community television stations had been issued temporary licences, due to the lack of available frequencies. CTV, it said, was currently using a frequency allocated for mobile TV. "During the rollout of mobile television (viewing from cellphones), your service will have to be switched off," the letter informed the station. An Icasa spokesman told the Cape Argus last week that community television was working on a temporary basis, and would have to give way to mobile TV once it was rolled out. "We are trying to get other means to cater for them (community TV stations)," he said. There are several community TV stations around the country. CTV station manager Karen Thorne said all of these would be affected, including Richards Bay TV in KwaZulu-Natal and Tshwane TV in Pretoria.