DRC makes the decision to go over to digital broadcasting


The Democratic Republic of Congo has announced that it will begin the process of digital transition for broadcasting transmission. Other African countries already making progress with the transition include Morocco, Tunisia, Mauritius, South Africa, Ghana, Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. The deadline set by the ITU for the transition is 17 June 2015.

This is what the Congolese Minister of Communication and Media’s Spokesman, Mr. Lambert Mende Omalanga, in collaboration with teleconsultation, a Technical Council to the Government represented by its Director General Angelo Parenti have announced on Tuesday, March 2, 2009 at the Sulutani Hotel before a handful of important members of national radio channels and télévisions. On should remember that 72 digital channels will be broadcast from Binza, designated as the national DTT signal carrier.