Nigeria: 35 Broadcasting Stations Sanctioned


The National Broadcasting Commission, NBC, says it sanctioned about 35 broadcast stations for various breaches of the Nigeria Broadcasting Code in January 201 Awwalu Salihu, Head of Public Affairs Department, last week announced that the sanctions in various categories ranged from warnings to fines depending on the severity of the breach.

The report reveals that, 'the broadcasting Corporation of Oyo State, Imo Broadcasting Corporation, FM Owerri and Anambra Broadcasting Service TV, Awka, were fined. Other stations handed fines include; Silverbird Awka, NTA Awka, Raypower 100.6, Bond FM, Edo State Broadcasting Service and Ondo State Radio Corporation FM.

The commission issued letters to Independent Television(ITV) Abuja, NTA Kaduna, ABG Communications, Desmins Television Kaduna, Africa Independent Television (AIT) Kaduna, among others, warning them against breaches that included praise-singing, absence of aviation warning light as well as broadcasting of Not To Be Broadcast NTBB Musicals, wrongful logo embossment and live relay of foreign news.The National Broadcasting commission also called on all broadcast stations to ensure strict compliance with the code of their profession, warning that it will not hesitate to apply appropriate sanctions for any breach.

Leadership 22 Feb 2010