AMAA Call for entries

Filmmakers in Eastern Africa –  Burundi,  Eastern Congo —  Kinshasa,  Eritrea,  Ethiopia,  Kenya,  Rwanda,  Somalia,  Sudan,  Tanzania,  Uganda — are invited to submit their best works made between January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2010 for consideration by the continental  Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA). Such works are to be sent to Nairobi, Kenya on or before November 30, 2010.
To ease communication — and because of the strategic importance of eastern Africa — AMAA (Africa Movie Academy Awards) has opened an Eastern Africa secretariat in Nairobi. It is coordinated by ComMattersKenya/Lola Kenya Screen.

The 7th AMAA Nomination Night is slated for Nairobi on February 12, 2011. More than 700 film practitioners from all over Africa, the Diaspora and the world will be expected in Nairobi for this epoch-making event to be held at the Safari Park Hotel.

AMAA is an all Africa (53 countries) platform that is giving voice to players in the audiovisual media sector by recognising and rewarding exemplary works in African cinema. AMAA accepts all kinds of films — fiction, documentary, animation. AMAA accepts short and long films up to 120 minutes.

AMAA accepts films by professionals, amateurs, students and children.

AMA Awards are presented to recognise and honour excellence among professionals and practitioners in the African audiovisual media sector — directors, actors and writers — as well as at to unite the African continent through arts and culture.

Presented annually, the AMA Awards is without doubt becoming the most prestigious and glamorous African entertainment industry event of its kind on the continent. Evolving from a one day event—televised live—to a diarised annual African event, the AMA Awards is now an established engagement platform for filmmakers, industry professionals and creative industry stakeholders.

Films and/or queries about AMAA in Eastern Africa are to be sent to:

Physical address: ComMattersKenya Philadelphia House Tom Mboya Street/Hakati Road Nairobi, Kenya.

Postal address: P O Box 20775-00100 GPO, Nairobi, Kenya.

Aluta Film Festival - Call for entries:

The organisers of the Aluta Film Festival, South Africa's premier African cinema event, are calling for entries from South African and International filmmakers for 2011, the 8th edition of the festival.
The 2011 film festival edition will be hosted on the 23rd till 26th February 2011 in Kimberley - South Africa.

Submissions must be from filmmakers who have produced films that embrace black experiences worldwide and/or experiences of marginalized communities from across the globe.

Submissions must be from filmmakers from all over the world with special emphasis on world cinema (films that explore history, social issues and highlight marginalized communities within the developing world).

•Aluta Film festival 2011 dates:
Wednesday 23 – Saturday 26 February 2011

•Call for entry deadline:
Friday 29 November 2010

The festival accepts features, documentaries and short films in the genres/sub-genres of drama, action, thriller, comedy, animation and factual.

Call For Entries - International Digital Emmy Awards at MIPTV

The International Digital Emmy Awards Call For Submissions
For the sixth year, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is recognizing excellence in content created and designed for viewer interaction and/or delivery on a digital platform (i.e. interactive TV, mobile, internet, etc.) originating outside of the United States.

The award categories are:

Digital Program – Children & Young People

Digital Program – Fiction

Digital Program – Non-Fiction

The deadline for entries is November 5, 2010. Winners will be announced at a ceremony during MIPTV 2011 in Cannes, France.

In recent years, FanTrust president Catherine Warren, a member of the Academy, has served on the jury.

Should you have any questions, please contact the Awards Department of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at awardsdept@iemmys.tv or phone 1-212-489-1946.