New channels for DStv Mobile

Technology & Convergence

On 29 March 2011, DStv Mobile announced it will be adding three exciting new channels to its broadcast mobile TV offering. This comes just months after successfully launching digital mobile television towards the end of 2010. CNNi, E!Entertainment and Sony Max will join the existing nine DStv channels that have been available as part of the introductory phase.

“The content on DStv Mobile is based on extensive research and consumers have been encouragingly vocal in terms of what they want to watch on a mobile device. From our observations and analysis of feedback, our sports channels have proved to be very popular but we have seen strong demand for more general entertainment which we hope to address via these new channels” said Aletta Alberts: Head of Content.

From the first week of April 2011, the available channels will be as follows: eNews, CNNi, Channel O, E! Entertainment, Sony Max, Africa Magic, Cartoon Network, Trace Urban, SuperSport 1, 2 and 3 and SuperSport Blitz.

“The introduction of digital mobile TV to South Africa has been a tremendous milestone and since November 2010, we have given consumers the opportunity to experience the service in order to encourage trial and feedback. A key driver of mobile television is the availability of suitable content for on-the-go consumption and we believe our improved bouquet is a step forward in this regard.” commented Mark Rayner: GM DStv Mobile South Africa.

With the introductory phase coming to an end, new subscription charges for accessing the DStv Mobile bouquet will commence in the first week of April 2011. DStv Mobile accessed through the Drifta mobile decoder will cost R36 monthly.  DStv Mobile offered via DVB-H phones is also available for R9 per week in addition to the R36 monthly option. DStv Premium subscribers will receive DStv Mobile on both Drifta and DVB-H handsets at no extra cost. DStv Compact subscribers, who subscribed to DStv Mobile via the Drifta before 31 March 2011, will get DStv Mobile at no extra cost until 31 March 2012.

Visit here for detailed information.