65th Festival del film Locarno: Open Doors dedicated to Sub-Saharan francophone Africa


For its 2012 edition, Open Doors focused on Sub-Saharan francophone Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Niger, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Togo.

With support from the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) of the Swiss Foreign Ministry, for the last eight years the Open Doors section has worked to highlight filmmakers and films from countries whose cinema is still developing, and is committed to enabling them to find co-production partners for their new projects.
This initiative, focusing on a different region every year, operates in two modes. Open Doors co-production lab brings professionals from the chosen region together with potential partners, mostly from Europe, to foster support for projects that would otherwise be difficult to make. Every year, following a call for submissions, the Festival selects a dozen new projects from the chosen region. At the end of the workshop, the winning projects receive either development or production support. For the public audience, the Open Doors Screenings present a selection of key films from the national cinemas of the chosen region.

Since its inception, Open Doors has showcased projects from Cuba and Argentina, countries in the Mekong, the Maghreb, South-East Asia (Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand), the Near and Middle East (Mashrek), Latin America, Greater China, central Asia and in 2011 India.

Projects shot in african languages or other languages were eligible for Open Doors 2012.