FESPACO 2013 innovation: women only jury!


Burkina Faso, the host country of the Panafrican Film and Television of Ouagadougou (FESPACO), presents nine films in competition at the 23rd edition of the FESPACO event which runs from 23 February to 2 March 2013.

According to the organizers of the event, nine films were selected from Burkina Faso from a total of 109 works included in the screening.

Among the Burkinabe films, there is one feature film,''Moi Zaphira” from director Ms. Apolline Traoré and the television series “Waga  Love” filmmaker and also responsible at the festival department of FESPACO, Guy Desire Yaméogo .

The theme of the 23th edition of FESPACO is:'' African Cinema and public policy in Africa.''

For the organisers, the theme is a call to African leaders from whom greater advocacy for African cinema is requested.

FESPACO innovated '' in deciding to grant woman its place in African cinema.'' Thus, all persons called to chair juries are female celebrities.

For example, the president of the jury will feature the director, producer and screenwriter from Martinique, Ezan Palcy, who will work alongside other personalities such as the Congolese musician Papa Wemba.

The staff of FESPACO is currently touring Europe to learn about the ins and outs of the 2013 edition.