Legendary Warner Theatre Hosts The African Oscars-NAFCA


The Nollywood & African Film Critics’ Awards, now officially known as The African Oscars, are a set of awards given annually for excellence of cinematic achievements. The African Oscars statuette is officially named the NAFCA and is one of 3 types of Awards. Organized and overseen by the Nollywood Film Critics USA. The other awards include, NAFCA Special Honors, Nollywood & African People’s Choice Awards.

The awards are given each year at a formal ceremony. The NAFCA was originally conceived by Dr. Victor O. Olatoye, the CEO of Nollywood Film Critics USA, as a professional film review organization to help improve the African film industry’s image and help promote African culture and heritage through films. The awards themselves were later initiated in 2011 in Durham North Carolina by Nollywood Film Critics USA as awards "of merit for distinctive achievement" in the African film industry.

These awards which were first given in 2011 at a formal ceremony at the Research Triangle Park Sheraton Imperial in Durham North Carolina were attended by only 400 people and one media. Over the years that the award has been given, the categories presented have changed; currently the African Oscars-NAFCA is given in more than three dozen categories, and includes films of various types. As one of the most prominent award ceremonies in Africa, the African Oscars-NAFCA ceremony is now covered by over 400 media partners globally, thus making it the most covered African film and honorary awards.

The 2nd  African Oscars-NAFCA was held on Sunday, 16 September 2012, at the Carolina Theatre, Durham North Carolina USA. The  3rd edition will be held on Saturday, 14 September 2013, at the legendary Warner Theatre in Washington Dc USA; this will be the largest to date for the African Oscars –NAFCA and for the African cinema. Hollywood, Nollywood, Diplomats and Dignitaries will be in attendance.

The Special NAFCA Honors: These prestigious awards were established in 2011 by the Nollywood & African Film Critics’ Awards to grace the lives and achievements of African luminaries and leaders. These honorary awards are awarded to recognize contributions over the whole of a career, rather than or in addition to single contributions of an individual. The Special NAFCA Honors also recognize outstanding humanitarians whose lives have been marked by extraordinary personal and professional accomplishments. The NAFCA Special Honors first recipient in 2011 was President Nelson Mandela.  Recipients of this award in subsequent years include President Yahya AJJ Jammeh of The Gambia and Hon. Minister Yousou N’Dour of Senegal. In 2013 Honoree are: President Jonathan Goodluck and President Ellen J. Sirleaf, Hon. Engr. Noah Dallaji (Philanthropist ACTDF), Her Excellency Dame (Dr) Patience Jonathan Goodluck, HE Liyel Imoke Hon. Governor of Cross River State, High Chief Edem Duke Hon. Minister of Culture & Tourism-Nigeria, HE Chief T.A Orji Hon. Governor of Abia State, Curtis Jackson (Philanthropist) & Her, Excellency Ama Tutu Muna Honorable Minister of culture (Cameroon)

Presentations of The NAFCA Special Honors are made yearly during the second weekend in September at the Nollywood & African Film Critics’ Awards also known as the African Oscars. The award categories include: Lifetime Achievements . Image . and Patriot Awards.