Regulation & Policy - In Brief

Regulation & Policy

The 17 June 2015 deadline for global migration to digital terrestrial television (DTT) will not be extended for any country, Dr Hamadoun Toure, secretary general of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) has said during a visit to Kenya. Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Nigeria, Cameroun, Malawi, Botswana, and Mauritius are among those African countries that have begun the analogue to digital migration process. However the majority of the continent is still to convert to DTT. Read more: ITU rules out digital TV deadline extension | Rapid TV News

DTT in Namibia: start of March 2014, the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) Director-General Albertus Aochamub says the consumer awareness campaign on Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT) has not taken off in the way it was planned to. So far only 2 900 decoders have been sold in Windhoek, Swakopmund and Oshakati. Full story here:

DTT in Tanzania: The Tanzania Communication Regulatory Authority (TCRA) is preparing for a second and last phase of the switch off of analogue to digital television broadcasting. In this phase 12 regions are expected to be involved in switching to digital. Full story here: