Viacom International Media Networks Africa partners with Multichoice to expand the reach of MTV to DStv Extra & Compact subscribers


Johannesburg, 13 August 2014: Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa has revealed that youth and general entertainment channel MTV (DStv channel 130) will open its arms to legions of new fans in South Africa when it moves to the DStv Extra and Compact packages on 25 August. The channel, which has previously been available only on DStv Premium, will now be part of the DStv Extra and Compact packages, alongside sister channel MTV Base (DStv Channel 322).

With this new deal, VIMN will significantly increase MTV’s reach in the South African market, underlining its point of reference for the young and the young-at-heart, while broadening its appeal to advertisers and brands. 
Alex Okosi, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa said, “We are excited to partner with MultiChoice to bring MTV’s world-class entertainment content to a wider audience base in South Africa via the DStv Extra and Compact packages.  This provides us with a great opportunity to introduce more content and initiatives that deliver even greater value for our viewers and partners.” 

Aletta Alberts, GM for Content for MultiChoice, said MTV will make a welcome addition to the DStv Extra and Compact packages: “We want our customers to have access to a wide variety of the best entertainment – MTV will delight young and young-at-heart Extra and Compact customers with its unique blend of cutting edge entertainment and music. Now more DStv customers can become part of the MTV generation.”

MTV will open to DStv Extra and Compact customers on Monday 25 August at 21:00 CAT with the primetime premiere of the channel’s flagship awards show, the 2014 MTV Video Music Video Awards in association with Sprite, powered by MTN (red carpet show begins 20:00 CAT). Performers at the awards, which take place at the Forum in Inglewood California, include, among others, Beyoncé, Maroon 5, Usher, Ariana Grande and 5 Seconds of Summer.

Source: Company Press Release