NFVF calls for Best Foreign Language Oscar submissions

The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) invites South African filmmakers to submit feature films for consideration for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 87th Annual Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences Awards. The closing date for submissions is 15 September 2014. The South African Selection Academy Committee will select the film chosen to represent South Africa.


A foreign language film is defined as a feature-length movie produced outside of the US with a predominantly non-English dialogue track. Accurate English subtitles are required.

Films must have been released in South Africa for a period of at least seven consecutive days beginning no earlier than 1 October 2013 and no later than 30 September 2014.

A film must be advertised and exploited during its eligibility run in a manner considered normal and customary to the industry, and need not have been released in the US.

Films which, in any version, receive a nontheatrical public exhibition or distribution before their first qualifying theatrical release will not be eligible for Academy Award consideration.

Nontheatrical public exhibition or distribution includes but is not limited to:
• Broadcast and cable television
• DVD distribution
• Internet transmission
The Academy will make the final determination in all questions of eligibility.


The Academy uses the following guidelines to determine a film's eligibility in the Foreign Language Award category:

1. Citizens or permanent residents of the submitting country should be represented in at least two of these categories: a. Producer(s) b. Director(s) c. Writer(s)
2. Citizens or permanent residents of the submitting country should be represented in the majority in these categories: a. Cinematographer b. Editor c. Art Director or Production Designer (whichever title designates the senior designer) d. Costume Designer e. Music Composer f. Sound Mixer
3. Citizens or permanent residents of the submitting country should be significantly represented among the major roles in the cast.

Entries should be hand delivered to the NFVF no later than the 15 September 2014 at 16h00 for attention:
The South African Academy Awards Selection Committee c/o Tumi Rabanye
National Film and Video Foundation
87 Central Street Houghton 2198

Visit the NFVF website for more information on applications and guidelines.

Luxor African Film Festival call for submissions and workshop applications

The Luxor African Film Festival (LAFF) which takes place from 17 to 23 March 2015 in Egypt, is accepting film submissions until 30 November 2014. LAFF is also accepting applications until 25 December 2014 for the filmmaking workshop, which will be presented by Ethiopian filmmaker Haile Gerima. The festival is organised by the non-profit Independent Shabab Foundation (ISF).

LAFF’s workshop will examine production of low budget films in an aim to equip emerging filmmakers with the skill and talent needed to produce low budget, high quality productions. Finished films produced in the workshop will screen at the closing ceremony. The festival will cover travel, accommodation and transport for the accepted applications and will sign contracts to hold the rights of the festival in the films produced during the workshops.

Workshop applicants will need to meet the following requirements in order to be considered:
• African nationality
• Should be a recognised film school or film institute graduate or
• A professional independent script writer or film director with experience working on no less than two films prior to LAFF in March 2015 (Narrative or Documentary, Short or Long)
• Should not surpass thirty years of age in January 2015
• Must send past film work with the application

Burkina Faso will be highlighted at the fourth edition due to its valuable contributions to the African film industry. The Pan African Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou (FESPACO) will also be a focus, in support of its initiative to build cinematic and cultural relations between African countries.

Feature and short films produced in African countries, which are made by African filmmakers or which feature African subjects will screen at the festival. LAFF features the following competition categories: Long Narratives, Long Documentaries, Short Films (Narratives and Documentaries), The International Competition of Freedom Films as well as other special sections. The ISF will also grant the Radwan El-Kashef Prize for Best Film reflecting African issues, providing filmmakers with an opportunity to win $1000 and The Golden Mask of Tutankhamun.

In 2014 LAFF hosted US actor, film director and political activist Danny Glover and screened 110 films from 41 African countries.

The festival selection committee will announce participating films on 1 January, 2015.

Terms of subscription and registration and application forms are available to download in Arabic, English and French from the festival website. 

International Digital Emmy® Awards @MipTV

The Eleventh International Digital Emmy® Awards will take place April 2015 at MipTV in Cannes, France. Competition will open September 2014, and will close November 2014.

Please contact the awardsdept@iemmys.tv for more information.