21 Icons documentary reflects Madiba’s legacy


The Promise of Freedom, an hour-long documentary made up of short films from Season 2 of the 21 Icons series, airs on Sunday 26 April 2015 at 19h30 on SABC3. Featuring moving footage of Mandela’s passing and redefining the South African struggle, the three chapter documentary is a recollection of the past and a reflection on a nation today.

The 21 Icons project is the creation of photographer and filmmaker Adrian Steirn and is sponsored by Mercedes-Benz South Africa, Momentum Asset Management, Nikon, Deloitte and the Department of Arts and Culture. The short film-series documents conversations between Steirn and South Africans who have inspired a nation through their extraordinary social contributions.

“These are the heroes of South Africa, people we admire whose common leadership and selfless personal characteristics are required by future generations. If we are to continue Madiba’s legacy to take this nation forward their stories will need to remain for generations to come,” says Steirn.

In a country experiencing transition and the entrenched social, political and economic turmoil that is characteristic of change, The Promise of Freedom presents a collective and unified message of hope through the astute insights of 21 extraordinary South African leaders.

The documentary features Albie Sachs, Dr Imtiaz Sooliman, Herman Mashaba, Frene Ginwala, Francois Pienaar, Grace Masuku, Pops Mohamed, Kitty Phetla, James Matthews, Professor Tebello Nyokong, Pieter Dirk-Uys, Pregs Govender, Lucas Radebe, Zubeida Jaffer, Anant Singh, Jill Farrant, Peter Magubane, Zanele Situ, Miriam Tlali, Taddy Blecher and Sandra Prinsloo.

The Promise of Freedom repeats on Monday 27 May, Freedom Day at 13h00.
Source: Screen Africa 20 April 2015