Voting Opens for BBC African Footballer of the Year 2015


The BBC has announced the five contenders for this year’s BBC African Footballer of the Year award.

The shortlist was revealed to football fans around the world during a special live broadcast on BBCWorld News and BBC World Service.

The 2015 nominees are:

    1. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Gabon and Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
    2. André Ayew – Ghana and Swansea City (England)
    3. Yacine Brahimi – Algeria and F.C. Porto (Portugal)
    4. Sadio Mané – Senegal and Southampton (England)
    5. Yaya Touré – Ivory Coast and Manchester City (England)

Voting opened today, Saturday 14 November 2015, and will run until 1800 GMT on Monday 30 November 2015 when the vote closes. Last year’s award was the most successful BBC African Footballer of the Year to date with hundreds of thousands of people voting in the global competition.

Vera Kwakofi, Current Affairs Editor, BBC Africa says: “We remain overwhelmed by how much African football fans on the continent and around the world take part in this competition with their votes and robust debate. We hope that this year’s finalists continue to reflect for fans, the breadth of talent and aspiration that these African footballers represent.”

Football fans can vote for free online at:
SMS voting is also available by texting 1 for Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang; 2 for André Ayew; 3 for Yacine Brahimi; 4 for Sadio Mané; and 5 for Yaya Touré to +44 77 86 20 20 08.

SMS texts are limited to one text per mobile phone number. Standard international text rates apply. Please check with your service provider. Full details and T&Cs are online at

The winner of BBC African Footballer of the Year 2015 will be revealed simultaneously on television,radio and online on Friday 11 December 2015. The announcement will be made during a special broadcast on BBC World News and BBC World Service at 1530-1600 GMT and revealed online via the BBC Africa Live page and on BBC social media channels.

Social media users can stay up to date with the competition by following BBC Sport and BBC Africa online and join the discussion using #BBCAFOTY.

Previous winners of the BBC African Footballer of the Year award include: Yacine Brahimi (2014), Yaya Touré (2013); Christopher Katongo (2012); André Ayew (2011) and Asamoah Gyan (2010).
Source: Talk Media Africa 17 November 2015