AFDA animation film candidate for Oscars


AFDA (The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance) is proud to announce the candidature of the AFDA Johannesburg 3rd year animation third year film “Swart Skaap” for the 43rd Student Academy Awards.

The Student Academy Awards will be including a Foreign Animation category for the first time which means that “Swart Skaap” is one of the first ever African animation film candidates nominated for an Oscar. The winners, in addition to receiving a cash grant, will be flown to Los Angeles to participate in the various industry- related activities for the Student Academy Awards week, culminating in the awards ceremony on Thursday, September 22nd, 2016. The winners will also automatically qualify for the Academy Awards in their respective short film categories.

“We are pretty excited about this new adventure that the film is embarking on. Swart Skaap has done really well so far and it just keeps getting more attention.  We are really honoured that AFDA nominated us for this opportunity. It’s great to know that all the hard work put in by our team and the many sleepless nights have paid off. As this is the first Student Oscars to accept animations, this was an incredible and unexpected surprise to us, and we are just really excited to see where it takes us. Another amazing thing is that message of our film is reaching more people, as we all should understand that it is OK to be different…to be a Swart Skaap!” say Eileen van Aswegan and Nadia Rabim the directors and writers of “Swart Skaap”.

 AFDA have won an Oscar for Best Foreign Film in 2006 with the film “Elaleni”, directed by Tristan Holmes and the film “Kanye Kanye” directed by Miklas Manneke was finalist for Best Foreign Film in 2013.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.
Source: The Callsheet 18 May 2016