DIFF: “The Talents” offer opportunities to African audiovisual professionals

The Durban International Film Festival (21-31 July - 2011) has finalised its selection for this year's edition of Talent Campus Durban (22-26 July).
Nearly 50 filmmakers representing 16 African countries - Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, Nigeria, Rwanda, Swaziland, Uganda, and Zimbabwe - will converge on Durban to take part in an intensive programme of workshops and master classes during the first five-days of the festival.

The Talents, who were selected through a rigorous application process, will also have the opportunity to attend screenings and events at the 32nd Durban International Film Festival which runs from 21-31 July. Themed Africa in Motion, the 4th Talent Campus Durban this year also includes a Doc Station component where three selected talents will receive expert mentoring before pitching their documentary projects to financiers, commissioning editors and potential co-producers within the Durban FilmMart.

Monica Rorvik, Talent Campus manager and assistant manager of the DIFF, comments that "Talent Campus Durban has already made a significant contribution to growing both skills and opportunities for African filmmakers. The festival has noted more film submissions coming from talents - this year DIFF is screening many films by previous Talent Campus participants. Career paths are opening up internationally for some of them, such as Cameroonian filmmaker Ariane Astrid Adoji, whose first film premiered in DIFF 2010 and was then picked up for screenings at Goteborg, Dubai and HotDocs festivals, winning an award in Dubai. Ariane returns to Durban this year with a new project in the Durban FilmMart."

Talent Campus Durban is a partnership project between the Durban International Film Festival in cooperation with the Berlinale Talent Campus and the Berlin International Film Festival, and is supported by the German Embassy in South Africa, the Goethe-Institut, and the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Economic Development and Tourism. Apart from the main event in Berlin, Talent Campus partnerships also take place at selected festivals in Buenos Aires, Guadalajara and Sarajevo. A further Talent Campus is envisaged for Japan. Opportunities for participating talents are enhanced through Talent Campus networks and the Berlinale’s global information platform.

The Durban International Film Festival is organised by the Centre For Creative Arts (University of KwaZulu-Natal) with support by the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (principal funder), National Film and Video Foundation, KwaZulu-Natal Department of Economic Development and Tourism, HIVOS, City Of Durban, German Embassy, Goethe Institut, and a range of other valued partners.

For media queries email Sharlene Versfeld or call Versfeld and Associates on 031-8115628

Centre for Creative Arts website.

Talent Campus Durban participants 2011:
Kitso Lynn Lelliott (Botswana)
Eudes Narcisse Wandji Ngassa (Cameroon)
Lassina Kon (Côte D’ivoire)
Ahmed Ghonemi (Egypt)
Nadine Salib Abdel Said (Egypt)
Eskindir Tefera Mengistu (Ethiopia)
Yinekachew Shumete Desalegn (Ethiopia)
Cedric Ido (France)
Akosua Adoma Owusu (Ghana)
Kwaku Duah Prempeh (Ghana)
Natasha Likimani (Kenya)
Peggy Mbiyu (Kenya) (also in Doc Station Durban)
Zipporah Nyaruri (Kenya)
Thabiso Mohapeloa (Lesotho)
Coulibaly Daouda (Mali)
Bodunrin Iruemiobe (Nigeria)
Peter Chidiebere Omewiri - Pius (Nigeria)
Mugwaneza Richard (Rwanda)
Anel Alexander (South Africa)
Anthonie Van Der Walt (South Africa)
Calum Macnaughton (South Africa)
Duduetsang Makuse (South Africa)
Dylan Valley (South Africa) (also in Doc Station Durban)
Gavillan Letsoalo (South Africa)
Guy Sclanders (South Africa)
Jarryn Katia (South Africa)
Jonathan Caramanus (South Africa)
Kyle Lewis (South Africa)
Mandilakhe Yengo (South Africa)
Mark Edwards (South Africa)
Matthew Jankes (South Africa)
Molefi Lebone (South Africa)
Mthokozisi Lembethe (South Africa)
Padraic O'meara (South Africa)
Rishane Rajkoomar (South Africa)
Rudzani Muthambi (South Africa)
Sean Drummond (South Africa)
Tiny Mungwe (South Africa)
Tshegohatso Molete (South Africa)
Yashvir Bagwandeen (South Africa)
Zachariah Rapola (South Africa)
Nonhlanhla Benji Dlamini (Swaziland) (also in Doc Station Durban)
Agnes Kamya (Uganda)
Joseph Kenneth Ssebaggala (Uganda)
Rehema Nanfuka (Uganda)
Lydia "Sue-Ellen" Chitunya (Zimbabwe)
Rudo Chakanyuka (Zimbabwe)
Simon De Swardt (Zimbabwe)

For more please visit here: 




Call for African Music films

The African Music Film Programme calls for African music films, clips and videos as a complementary programme to the live performances of the main stage for the Sauti za Busara 2012 festival in Zanzibar.

Last year saw the Old Fort’s seated amphitheatre transformed into a cinema space where festival goers gathered to see seven feature length African music documentaries and a rich compilation of music videos from around the African continent over a period of four nights

Sauti za Busara 2012 is looking for feature length films together with a variety of stimulating and entertaining shorts from around the African continent. These can be music clips and videos, recorded concerts, music documentaries or more experimental films.

Organisers are primarily looking for:

◦Films that tell a story about music and musicians from the African Continent and Diaspora

◦Music films that are of exceptional interest to all audiences (local, international, regional, etc)

◦Music films that represent the wealth and diversity of music from East Africa and beyond

◦Music films with great visuals, quality sound and music that is firmly rooted in Africa

◦Music films that tell of new and unheard of sounds as well as established artists

◦Foreign language films should ideally be subtitled in Kiswahili and/or English

Applications can only be considered if organisers receive a completed application including two copies of the film by 30 Sept 2011. All applicants will be notified of the selection committee decision by email during November.

Apply online here: