Kenya: Microsoft, British Council to Build 90 Digital Hubs


Kenya is among the six nations earmarked for a multi-million project in six Sub Saharan African nations, for the launch of digital hubs under Badiliko project. The project which is being funded by the British Council and Microsoft Company will build 90 digital hubs in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Ghana and Nigeria.

According to the British Council Director of Programmes Mutuku Nguli over the next two years, the BC and MS will each invest $1million in cash, plus staff and in kind resources to build the hubs. He said that the project is aimed at improving ICT use in innovative teaching practice, helping teachers hone skills and providing content to help educators increase their students' knowledge and ability to engage in a global environment.

Speaking in Shujaa Mekatilili Secondary School in Magarini constituency during the launch of a digital hub, Nguli noted that Badiliko is expected to train more than 20, 000 school leaders and teachers across the Sub Saharan Africa and provide more than 100, 000 learners and communities with digital access, while promoting literacy. "We formed this partnership in November 2011 based on the complementary expertise in technology and internationalism in education. We seek to combine expertise in order to increase innovative teaching and learning practices and better prepare young people for life and work in the 21st century," he said.

MS Academic Programmes Manager Alex Nyingi also pointed out that MS has committed nearly $500 million to help education systems in the world under its Partners in Learning Project. Nyingi said that since the project's inception in 2003, they have reached more than 196 million teachers and students in 114 countries. "Our main aim is to see that students, teachers and the community as a whole living in today's increasing digital and connected world have ICT skills," he said. The BC Kenya has five digital hubs functioning in Molo, Maralal, Siaya, and Malindi. Under the Badiliko, the BC and MS will set up 20 additional hubs in seven regions in the country.