Ooredoo Algeria extends 3G++ network to six more provinces


Mobile operator Ooredoo Algeria has extended its 3G++ network to six new provinces (wilayas), namely Naama, Tizi-Ouzou, Mascara, Oum El Bouaghi, Tiaret and Relizane. The company said it would continue the extension to seven more provinces from the start of 2015.

These are Annaba, Batna, El Bayadh, Laghouat, Guelma, El Taref and Ain Temouchent. The thirteen new provinces will take the total number of provinces covered by 3G++ to 32. CEO Joseph Ged said that over 80 percent of the population, or 30 million Algerians, would be able to benefit from the new network.

The company recently announced an agreement with Alcatel-Lucent to deploy Africa's first 400 Gbps backbone network, which will boost capacity to meet increasing demand for mobile broadband communications.

Source: Telecompaper  4 December 2014