Nigeria: NCC appoints new commissioners

According to a report by TelecomPaper, Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye as chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC).

According to the report, Buhari requested the Senate confirm the nominees into the positions of Chairman, Executive Commissioner, and Non-Executive Commissioners of the NCC.

As stated within the report, Femi Adesina, the president’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, said that the nominations were in accordance with Section 8(1) of the Nigerian Communications Commission Act 2003.

The report further revealed that the NCC board consists of nine Commissioners made up of six non-executive members, including the Chairman, and three executive members, including, the Executive Vice Chairman / Chief Executive and two Executive Commissioners. Durojaiye succeeded Peter Igho who chaired the commission’s board from 2010 to 2015.

MTN SA hires OpenView HD’s Maxwell Nonge

MTN South Africa has appointed former OpenView HD head Maxwell Nonge as chief digital officer. In the new role, Nonge will be responsible for driving the telecommunications operator’s expansion in the media space, fibre to the home (FTTH), fibre to the business and mobile money.

Nonge, who led the development of the free-to-air satellite OpenView HD platform in South Africa, will take up his new role on 1 September.