ARPT grants permission to Ooredoo to launch LTE in 27 new provinces

13 January 2017


Algeria’s Regulatory Authority for Post and Telecommunications (Autorite de Regulation de la Poste et des Telecoms, ARPT) has granted its permission to cellco Ooredoo Algeria to deploy 4G services in 27 additional wilayas (provinces) – Ouargla, Djelfa, Biskra, Ghardaia, Adrar, Algiers, Oran, Constantine, Setif, Boumerdes, Bejaia, Blida, Annaba, Tipaza, Sidi Bel Abbes, Bouira, Chlef, Batna, Bordj Bou Arreridj, Media, Mascara, M’sila, Tiaret, Defla, Mostaganem, Relizane and Ain Temouchent. The regulator disclosed that it made the decision (No.120/PC/ARPT/2016) after Ooredoo achieved its minimum coverage and quality of service (QoS) obligations in the wilayas of Tizi Ouzou, Tlemcen and Bechar. The operator is now authorised to offer LTE services in a total of 30 wilayas.

Source: All Africa 10 January 2017