13 April 2018


Zambia’s BongoHive opens applications for Entrepreneurship Bootcamp

Zambian innovation hub BongoHive has opened applications for its Entrepreneurship Bootcamp, which provides entrepreneurs to turn their ideas in the retail and e-commerce sectors into businesses.

Selected teams will then proceed to the three-week Discover Pre-Accelerator, which begins in mid-May and will see ideas prototyped. The programme concludes on June 1 with a pitch event, where the best startup will be awarded US$1,000 seed funding.

Applications are open here.

Nominations Open for 2018 Africa Women Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) Awards!

Deadline: 2 July 2018

Nominations are open for the 2018 Africa Women Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) Awards to recognise honour and celebrate Women Entrepreneurs and Business Owners in Africa and across industry sectors, for their economic performance and contribution to Africa’s growth and social development. AWIEF salutes these women for their passion and determination in making a difference in their countries and on the continent.

The AWIEF Awards cover emerging and established entrepreneurship in the private and not-for-profit sectors. Pioneers or not, AWIEF Awards candidates are women who have demonstrated outstanding vision and inspiration, and have overcome challenges to make a significant social impact and/or become successful in their businesses along AWIEF’s core areas of innovation, technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and socio-economic development.

Award Categories

   Young Entrepreneur Award: This Award goes to a young female entrepreneur under the age of 35, who has demonstrated exceptional entrepreneurial spirit and skills to build and grow a successful business, and is an inspiration to other young entrepreneurs.

   Tech Entrepreneur Award: This Award seeks to recognise a woman entrepreneur who has used science and technology to create an innovative business, offering new knowledge, service, product or solution.

   Social Entrepreneur Award: This Award goes to a woman who with her business has made significant social impacts in the community and has proffered solutions to social, cultural, technology, education, environment or financial challenges with her innovative product or service.

   Global Brand Award: The Global Brand Award goes to a woman entrepreneur or business owner who has created a world-class product or service that is easily recognisable as a global brand.

   Agri Entrepreneur Award: This Award goes to a woman who has achieved significant recognition and business success in the field of agriculture and agribusiness with great impact on food security in her community or country.

   Empowerment Award: The Empowerment Award goes to a woman who has greatly contributed and invested in inspiring, mentoring and empowering other women entrepreneurs.

   Creative Industry Award: This Award recognises the disruptive and creative entrepreneurial excellence of a woman in the film, music, food, beauty, art, fashion, media, advertising, design, or crafts industry.

   Lifetime Achievement Award: The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an established woman entrepreneur for prolonged and consistent achievements in business. This individual is a role model who has displayed exceptional and outstanding business leadership over time. This Award also recognises the significant contribution made to job creation and the economy.

Nomination Guidelines

   Nominations should only be made relating to achievements made by a female entrepreneur and national of an African country, with a registered business and operation in one or more African countries.

   Nominees can be nominated or self-nominated.

   Applicants can nominate a woman entrepreneur for more than one category but they must complete different nomination forms.

   Applicants may be asked to support or verify the evidence they supply as part of the nominations they make.

   Three nominees will be shortlisted for each category and will be invited to the AWIEF Awards and Gala Dinner on Friday, 9 November 2018 in Cape Town.

How to Apply

Interested applicants must fill the online nomination form via given website.

For more information, please visit 2018 AWIEF Awards.