11 April 2019


WASPA names new board members

South Africa's Wireless Application Service Providers' Association (WASPA) said it has amended its constitution to better equip the non-profit industry association to represent the interests of its members while also pursuing a mobile consumer protection mandate. The new constitution specifically provides for a board to replace the management committee structure in place since WASPA's founding in 2004.

The new Board members that began serving their 12-month and 24-month terms this month are James McNab (Vice-Chair & Telco Affairs portfolio), Lianda Holleman (Treasurer & Finance portfolio), Anthony Ekerold (Code of Conduct portfolio), Michiel Huisamen (Communications & Membership portfolio), Conrad Geldenhuys (Regulatory portfolio) and Pierre van Rensburg (Wholesale portfolio).

Steering WASPA for the duration of its 2019/2020 financial year will be long-time mobile industry stalwart, Greg Brophy, who will serve as Chair. He was elected to lead WASPA’s inaugural Board at the recent WASPA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Randburg, Johannesburg in early March 2019.