17 May 2019


Sudatel’s CEO Wins Major African Telecom Award

Mr. Tarig Hamza Zain Elabdein, President and CEO of The Sudatel Group, has been named East African CxO of the year at the annual East Africa Com awards.

These awards celebrate the achievements of the people and organisations improving connectivity and accelerating digital transformation in East Africa. They are part of the East Africa Com show, the premier strategic event for telecoms, media, broadcasting and technology leaders in East Africa taking place in Nairobi this week.

Mr Zain Elabdein beat off strong competition in his category from Ben Roberts, Group Chief Technology and Innovation Officer of Liquid Telecom; Erik Hersman, CEO of BRCK; Joshua Sandler, CEO of Lori Systems and William Kibiwott Chesire, CEO (East Africa) of Mtech Ltd.

Tom Cuthell, Event Director for East Africa Com, said "Congratulations to Mr Zain Elabdein.

The judges were very impressed with Sudatel's progress under his watch - and his ambitious plans for the future."