Telecoms News - In Brief


- The government of Benin has nominated the members of the new transitional council for the regulation of the telecommunications sector in the country. The president of the new regulation authority is Firmin Djimenou. Nine additional members have been nominated among them three women, Réckiya Madougou, Pierrette Djossou and Epe Amoussou. The remaining six male members are Victor Tokpanou, Léonel Agbo, Lyassou Daouda, Emmanuel Moudjibou, Flavien Aidomonhan and Romain Abilé Houehou.

- Employees of Botswana Telecommunications Corporation (BTC) are free to become members of any political party and hold political office. However BT’s management has the right to require the employee to choose between holding a political office or remain an employee of BTC if holding a political office adversely affects performance.

- Rwanda Terracom has deployed a CDMA2000 1x EV-DO network in Kigali, the capital city, with Huawei supplying the equipment as part of a general network upgrade. Newly-appointed CEO Christopher Lundh revealed that the company plans to extend its existing upgrade.